How does the Automated Shutdown feature work?

To help gamers that tend to forget to turn off their workstation, we have developed a small tool that automatically shuts down a workstation.

Some notes that are important considering the use of the automated shutdown:

  • The forced shutdown will close down all applications left open, without saving work in progress.
    It is important to save your work, before disconnecting from the cloud workstation.
  • The feature will, by default, be turned on upon connection.
    When needed, you can turn off this feature as discribed at the bottom of this article.
  • You have to connect to your Desktop to trigger this feature.
    Example: Powering on your Desktop without connecting to it, will not trigger the tool. Thus the Desktop will remain powered on. Once you connect to your Desktop, the tool will be active.
  • The tool is active from the second time you power on your Desktop.
    The first time, the login event isn’t triggered within the Automated Shutdown.

The automated shutdown tool has 2 different functions with the same outcome:

  • 1. Shutdown after disconnect
  • 2. Shutdown after idle time

Below, these functions are described in detail.

 

1. Shutdown after disconnect

The first part of our tool is triggered, once a user disconnects form the virtual machine, or stops the streaming. The disconnect can be initiated by:

  • Closing your laptop, or shutting down your local workstation
  • Internet connection problems
  • Shutting down the Receiver or Tab/Browser you were using to connect to your cloud workstation
  • Disconnect your session
  • etc.

Note that the forced shutdown will close down all applications left open, without saving work in progress.
It is important to save your work, before disconnecting from the cloud workstation.

To avoid and minimize the risk of losing work in progress, because of an accidental disconnection (eg.: due to internet connection issues), we built in a buffer time of several minutes. This value can be configured via our tool. If a user reconnects within the configured amount of minutes after disconnection, the workstation won’t automatically shutdown and will be able to continue gaming. The buffer time value can be adjusted as descriped at the bottom of this article.

 

2. Shutdown after idle time

The second part of our tool, will trigger a shutdown when your Desktop was idle for a certain time slot.

Your Desktop is considered idle when it hasn’t had mouse or keyboard input during the buffer time.
From the moment there’s no keyboard/mouse input anymore, the buffer time starts running. It’s resetted once you’ll give input again.

Note that playing with a controller is not considered as keyboard/mouse input. So it’s possible that while playing a game, the idle time will expire.

When the buffer time is expired, the Desktop will not shutdown immedialely. A popup message is shown to remind you that your Desktop will be powered off. In this window you can cancel the automated shutdown by clicking the “Cancel” button.

You’re not obliged to use this part of the feature, as you can bypass this by setting the Idle time to a huge amount of minutes (for example: 1440 minutes –> 24 hours).

 

Usage tool

The tool is located in your toolbar, in the bottom right corner of your screen.

When you right click on our tool, a little menu will pop up.

The menu has 3 features: Disable/Enable, Status & Configure.

  • Disable/Enable
    With this button, you can disable & enable the Automated Shutdown feature.
    Note that every time the Desktop is booted, the Automated Shutdown is automatically enabled.
  • Status
    This shows the current status of the Automated Shutdown 
  • Configure
    This allows you to adjust some timings; You can adjust the buffer time (interval to reconnect) & the idle time.

    • Buffer time is the time (in seconds) between the disconnect & the (automated) shutdown. If you reconnect during the buffer time, the shutdown is cancelled. Default value is set to 1200 seconds (20 minutes).
    • Idle time is the time (in minutes) while there’s no input, after that time the Desktop shuts automatically. Before this happens, we give a popup where you can cancel the shutdown triggered by the idle time.
      You’re not obliged to use this part of the feature, as you can bypass this by setting the Idle time to a huge amount of minutes (for example: 1440 minutes –> 24 hours). Default value is set to 30 minutes.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles